Is it OK to say this on Twitter?

Posted on March 19, 2010

1


My heart rate has increased two-fold in the past ten minutes.

Discovering how I’d misidentified the editor of the Chicago Tribune was the first horror and, when I tweeted that confession on Twitter, I noticed this tweet in my mentions column in Seesmic.

While I sat nervously biting my nails waiting for the first thing to get sorted, I started wondering whether it was really on to say that ‘I refuse to watch Sport Relief’  on Twitter as well.

It’s one thing to write a blog about the BBC, but it’s unnerving when you have a tweeted comment effectively returned to your Twitter inbox reminding you what you just said. 

Sport Relief is the BBC’s ‘charitable arm’, in a sense. I am basically dissing charity. And those who work on it.

Will some people wag a finger disapprovingly? Should I feel rather sorry about being so dismissive about something colleagues are probably working very hard on, as I settle back on the sofa and guzzle a beer?

I genuinely don’t know. And if there’s anyone involved reading this, then I’m really sorry if I’ve offended you.

I just didn’t think.

Sometimes I think it’s just best I don’t go near the internet really. I’m nothing but a liability.

Posted in: Internet