Radio: The Report \ Radio 4 \ 030510

Posted on May 3, 2010

0


It’s been a long time since I’ve listened to Radio 4 ‘proper’. And by ‘proper’ I mean that weird time after the Archers and before the midnight news. In fact, truth be told, I’ve been consuming considerably more stuff via BBC iPlayer. That’s weird in itself given that I’ve always been a linear radio boy.

Anyway, whilst cooking my packed lunch for the coming week (a pea, basil and cheddar cheese frittata in case you’re interested) I caught the tail end of an interesting piece of extended journalism about the airline / volcanic ash problem a few weeks ago.

What I heard of BBC Radio 4’s The Report threw light on how it was the skies were ‘re-opened’. Almost like a National Geographic Aircrash Investigations without the reconstructions.

Definitely worth a listen not least because the subsequent bulletin at the top of the hour led with Irish airspace being closed from 7am on Tuesday 4 May.

Tagged:
Posted in: Audio & Music