Appraisal 2010\2011: Email – Tool of the Devil

Posted on June 23, 2010

1


I’m nothing if not happy to lay myself bare, warts and all. It’s therapy. It’s vital. And .. given it’s appraisal time, it’s also quite useful too.

Today, I ended up falling into exactly the same trap I’ve fallen into countless times in the past. I responded to a series of emails which had left me feeling quite angry.

It wasn’t the senders fault. It wasn’t my fault. The sender was in one BBC building. I was in another. Things happen in that building I don’t know about. Things happen in the building I work in the sender doesn’t know about. We’re both as ignorant as each other.

But in that moment of reading a series of emails which left me thinking “What exactly does that mean?” and “How is that helpful?” I hit the forward button and started doing that dangerous “escalation thing”.

Lets be clear about this. No one has actually died. I wasn’t rude. I wasn’t offensive. In fact, if anything, I was my usual charming self injecting my self-obsessed mild-rant with mild humour, annotating the message with the appropriate graphical shorthand to ram my self-deprecation home a bit.

But, it seemed that only fuelled things. And, whilst I reckon I managed to diffuse things (thereby massaging my own ego in the process), I’m rather hoping to include the following plea in my annual appraisal.

Could we all – all 23,000 of us at the BBC – just agree not to communicate via email ever again?

It doesn’t help. It only promotes bad feeling. And – I know – at 10.30pm tonight will only make me feel like a complete arsehole.

Could we? Could we all just agree to get our IT service provider to deinstall email ?

Tagged: , ,
Posted in: UK