How to exceed expectations

Posted on June 24, 2010

0


It’s not all doom and gloom on this blog. Oh no.

There’s a lady called Jamie who works in the ‘Stop and Go’ sandwich shoppy thing in the White City building where I work.

Every day without fail, she serves every customer who comes her way with the same upbeat mood. She says three things during each transaction.

“Hello,” she says with refreshing sincerity.

“Would you like a bag for that?”

I always decline.

And then when she gives me back my change, she finishes off with an equally sincere ..

“Have a good afternoon.”

I always reciprocate. And when I have, I always leave feeling suitably boyed-up by her attention to simple detail.

It’s genuine. It’s heartfelt. And it exceeds expectations every time.

Posted in: UK