This is the BBC

Posted on July 8, 2010

5


Pictured above is a visualisation of the words from an email (with all the specific details ripped out) I received earlier on today. It is a business email. It is – I do understand – a necessary email for some parts of the BBC and no offense is intended using it as a starting point for a discussion point.

But, at the same time, it is also illustrates the kind of language which leaves me cold. It represents exactly the opposite mindset that I have about my role in and my contribution to the BBC’s output. It shows a completely different vista on the organisation I love working for. And the more I look at that visualisation the more I find it difficult to understand how the two views can coexist.

Like scatological practices, one knows this goes on but none of us like to be reminded of it. And when I’m Director General, I’ll stamp it out for good.

Posted in: UK